E63 your questions answered

Following on from the other E63 posts I’m going to answer the questions in one go…

First up from sarvajeet does the E63 support 8gb, the answer is yes see the photo below.

The next question I was asked was again by sarvajeet and it was related to the speaker on the E63. The speaker is as good as the E71, I wouldn’t say it was an improvement but it works well on speaker phone calls, the voice is loud and clear so now problem there. I wouldn’t less to music through it on the E63, but I wouldn’t listen to music through the speaker on the E71 either.

The final question asked was does the E63 let Nokia email and Jaiku play nicely by Bernie Goldbach. I was interested in this too. What I’ve noticed and its why Bernie was asking was that on the E71 ( and I think Bernie has an E90) Those apps don’t play nicely, they refuse to use the same data connection. What I find is that whilst the two are running on my E71, jaiku won’t update, so when you open the native S60 app it takes some time while it updates itself using the data connection. Alternatively, the Nokia email wont sync even when it’s on the push setting, you notice this when you go to your desktop and there’s new mail in gmail, but it’s not on our phone.

Well, during my testing both apps have played nicely on the E63, I’ve been running both apps full time, Email on push and Jaiku on ‘most up to date’ so both are busy synching at minute intervals, there hasn’t been any issues. Both have worked flawlessly, I never experienced either of the issues I have on the E71.

I can only speculate that the E63 has a slightly different firmware to the E71 which prevents the problem from occurring. The E71 is about to get a new firmware any day now, it’s published but it hasn’t hit the NSU yet, well not for me any way.

So, I’ve answered all the questions left on the blog posts, I still like the device and the keyboard is still a real winner. I’m not having mush fun with wi-fi right now, but i dont know it that’s because it’s a pre-production model or something I dont know. I can’t get Truphone to install either, I really don’t know why, so can’t test the VoIP functionality of the device which is a shame, maybe some one from Truphone will get in touch.

2 thoughts on “E63 your questions answered

Leave a Reply

