Nokia E63; The software

The general feel or speed of the device is good, it’s as snappy as the E71, there’s no lag. As any respecting S60 devices tester would do, on went handy Taskman, here’s the screen shot right after boot up.

There’s about 74M of ram left after boot and with screenshot running, 105M of the device itself and there’s not memory card installed.

Nothing too unusual about the software really standard home screen, there’s several softer themes here they are;

 

As I mentioned on my previous post, the camera is the same as the one on the E61i

There’s also an OVi files app in the applications folder too.

The Music store app is there along with share online so no changes to this menu.

The media gallery is still the classic E series media gallery.

And here are some of the other menu’s with the new E series icon’s

The GPS icon and Maps icon is there but when you click it the devices asks whether you want to turn bluetooth on, indicating there’s no GPS but you need an external unit.

The infra-red and modem icons are missing from the Connectivity menu, we noticed the infa-red unit had gone from the side of the device.

24 thoughts on “Nokia E63; The software

  1. I am personally interested in whether the E63’s memory management can accommodate both the Nokia Mail client and the S60 Jaiku client–both operating simultaneously and both being served with data.

  2. Hello Rob,
    I’m pretty much an amateur when it comes to phones so I’ve really no idea what you mean when you said ” …to turn bluetooth on, indicating there’s no GPS but you need an external unit”. Does that mean you can’t have the GPS services?

    Regards.

  3. And I did some looking around and it seems that the Google Maps with Latitude programme works with the E63. Does that really work with our E63?

  4. Hi Cherag,

    Google maps will work using the GSM network to find a location, but not GPS as the device doesn’t have GPS.

    Rob.

  5. Hey Rob, I want to update the software of my e63 but i dont knw how. When i went to nokia software updater, i cant update my software, they said that my phone type cant be updated. Pls help.

  6. Hi Aakash

    what do you want to update it too?

    if nokia updater says there’s no new firmware, then there’s no new firmware.

    cheers!
    Rob.

  7. hi rob
    i want to buy nokia e63 but i heard tht if i fail to update the soft wares than the phone start malfunctioning .is it true….? i also came to know that nokia sometimes doesn’t provide with the latest updates ………
    so therefore i would also appreciate if you could tell me what can be the remedy for all these problems ?

    does this problems at all exist or not and if yes that what can be done to avoid it

    thank you

  8. i am also having concerns when it comes to typing speed,it lags most of the time when I key in the ‘space bar’=)but E63 is an excellent budget fone,compared to E71.

    I am also waiting for the new firmware,and I am also planning to buy and external GPS device=)

  9. Hi my E63 is hanging at the time when someone is calling , Also many times it happens delay when clicking/typing. Pl tell me what should i do..otherwise it is good.

    Thanks..

  10. Helo my e63 gets hang when i listen my music & also when someone is calling plzzz help me yaar ,i m very confuse ,what will i do…?

  11. Hey everybody,

    I have a trouble with Nokia E63 as follows:
    For the web browser, it is fine to browse all the wed pages, but for the webmail (company email) I can check and read the received emails but when I click the REPLY button, it says:”Mozilla < 1.3 beta is not supported, I will try, though, but it might not work” and I can not compose the reply email, then I change to the TEXT button, it works but showing many blah blah things as br… on the compose screen, I have to delete them one by one, it takes time and it is inconvenient.
    Please let me know how to resolve it

    Regards,

    John Tran.

  12. The GPS icon and Maps icon is there but when you click it the devices asks whether you want to turn bluetooth on, indicating there’s no GPS but you need an external unit.

  13. The general feel or speed of the device is good, it’s as snappy as the E71, there’s no lag. As any respecting S60 devices tester would do, on went handy Taskman, here’s the screen shot right after boot up.

  14. There’s about 74M of ram left after boot and with screenshot running, 105M of the device itself and there’s not memory card installed.

    Nothing too unusual about the software really standard home screen, there’s several softer themes here they are;

  15. hey rob, i have a nokia e63 and i have a 4gig memory card witch i downloaded movies on, but it dont want to play the movie ( i cant watch it ) what can i do…please help

  16. plz give me a solution,
    my E63 is hanging while opening my media gallery…….i have tried much but not getting any solution.i hav already executed soft and hard format.but no solution.plz help me.

Leave a Reply

