Give me a car with an IP address

I wish my car had an IP address and I don’t understand why it couldn’t have one. It could either have a wi-fi connection and connect to the home wi-fi when sat on the drive, or 3G and a lost to insert the sim card of my choice. It’d obviously need an OS and some storage, but neither are a major problem.

I’d just like to be able to either set up an RSS feed for the car itself to drag down podcasts, or be able to connect to the storage from my PC and just drag and drop files across to it, either music or even films.

Doing the whole media thing in the car right now doesn’t work that well an there must be a better way.  There must be other benefits too, the dealer could dial in and check the cars vitals or the car itself could send updates (SNMP).

If we’re going to have an Internet of things, why don’t we start with the car being the first daily use thing to get an IP address.

Leave a Reply

