Nokia E71 a two handed device.

I’ve been using the E71 for a couple of days now and I don’t know what to think, but something is nagging at me, that maybe this isn’t the perfect phone I’d hoped it would be. It may be just me and how the device is used rather than the device itself being at fault.

Let me try to explain, it’s as simple as some phones need only one hand to be operated, and some need two. The E71 (and the E61i) is for me a two handed devices, ie, to get the best out of it you need to use two hands (or two thumbs) to type, you can’t reach with your thumb in one handed operation mode to keys on the other side of the keyboard, it’s just too big. The E66 on the other hand (no pun intended) is a one handed operation device, which I think is where my head is in terms of devices that I need to use.

I had this same debate with myself a few years back, at the time I had a Treo and it too has an excellent thumb keyboard but it just required two hand operation and after considerable deliberation I swapped the Treo for a (HTC) Orange SPV C500 running windows mobile, which was a much smaller candy bar phone, but it only required one handed operation.

So part of me is saying this E71 is a great device, the battery is awesome, the keyboard (for two handed operation) is great and it’s damn fast, but part of me is saying do I want to have to stop what I’m doing something or let go of something in order to respond to a message, as that’s what you have to do if it’s a two handed device, let go of the handle of Air France shuttle bus, no chance. There’s plenty of occasions when two handed use is just impossible, carrying your suitcase and laptop bag when getting off a plane, phone one hand, laptop bag the other, respond to message, no chance.

Maybe it’s about what you use the device for, if it’s a blackberryesque laptop replacement and typing out emails then two handed operation is the speedier way to go, responding with one line emails and the odd SMS, then one handed and T9 is the way to go. It’s about what you need for a device, is it a laptop replacement or is it a phone. I think I’m in the one handed operation camp, but  Let me give it a few more days use and I’ll have a think again, but at the moment, if you put too devices on the table right now, the E66 and the E71 I’d take the E66, let’s see if my thinking changes over the next week or so.

Which camp or you in… single handed T9 speed merchant or two thumbed typing deamon?

One thought on “Nokia E71 a two handed device.

  1. hey friend,
    Me 2 never thought on this thing over a month using this phone,but while i am responding 2 ur artical this makes me feel 2 thumb deamon myself.dude,this mobile is fun,i am using it like my pamtop all my mails,office personal,windows live chat with my bro n friends always online,yahoo good features,all flight schedules,weather forcast via gps navigation any time in any city n any subcontinent,also what else with a full version of joiku u can convert ur mobile not into a wifi signal recever but a transponder u can connect as many as 5 laptops with this mobile and surf internet on wifi using data packet connection of ur mobile with on the go in ur car,home office,batroom whereever u need.2 things are prici the sofware joiku n travel mate 2.0 i wish it could had been free or u can crack acode for me.nervertless browsing is very slow in india due to 3G testing is one but down load a opera mini browser 2.0 default recomended for e71 series,n brousing is fun n very very very fast.i ll definitly suggest days r gone for Pc,LAPTOP n data connection,i am 24*7*365 connected online in my hand n pocket just waiting for wimax the broadband speed on the move any where n any time,then i might be able to use this mobile to exchange voice over ip. And yes u can send voice msges from this mobile by using window live id n mesenger download n enjoye

Leave a Reply

