VeriSign PIP and Seatbelt

Fedex delivered my VeriSign security fob this morning so I registered it against my OpenID. I know have a second identification request when I log into my OpenID. So somebody may brute force my password but then they’ve got to guess the six digit number sequence correctly.

However, I still can’t bind it to my PayPal ID, it looks like I’ll have to wait for PayPal to roll out the fob’s in the UK.

Having bound the fob to my VeriSign ID I installed seatbelt too. SeatBelt is a Firefox plug-in that helps you;

SeatBelt is a Firefox plug-in that assists you when signing in to OpenID sites with your PIP URL. Typically, if you are not signed into your PIP account when you access a sign in page using OpenID, you need to access your PIP account and sign in. Since you must do this within the same browser window, you have to navigate away from the page you wish to sign in to.

SeatBelt detects that you have clicked on an OpenID sign in field while not signed into your PIP account and prompts you to sign in. Once you have signed in, SeatBelt automatically returns you to the OpenID sign in page with your PIP URL filled in. The sign in session continues as normal.

 

So if you’re looking for an OpenID, and you should, then VeriSign’s PIP and seatbelt provides an integrated solution.

Technorati Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

