Enterprise Wiki update

I installed Ubuntu 6.06 desktop version a few days back on the trial box I got from the tech team and have playing without too much luck with the LAMP setup. So I decided to start afresh and install Ubuntu 6.06 server edition and select the LAMP option.

I then walked through the setup of the mysql server, and the install of mediawiki and it all worked fine. A few tweaks later and all was setup and working great.

I’ve kept all my notes and the process I used to set the server up and will keep them until it’s hosted correctly.

But I’m chuffed that it’s all working and I’ll take it back down to Slough next week and set up on the network. I’ve got some security tweaks to do and the openssh server is installed so I can putty over to it and tweak until my hearts content.

I’m still trying to pin down the right person who knows about hosting within Orange, if it’s you or you know of the person then email me.

Leave a Reply

