thoughts on conversations with the manufacturer

Having recently taken part in the beta testing of the new S60 Jaiku client I’d realised how easy it was for us, the beta testers to have a conversation with the developers or manufacturer of that product.

They read your emails, they respond to posts on the group hub and also read your jaiku’s too. They have built a real community of users and have a transparent conversation with those users.

The reason I’d be thinking about this was, I have a few Ralph Lauren polo shirts I wear knocking around the house. Now the label on the inside some times rubs and scratches, nothing huge just a a little irritating. Well in my beta tester mode I immediately thought I’d strike up a conversation with them and let them know how they could improve (in my view) their product, but where?

I just don’t know where to start with companies who haven’t embraced or understood the power of the open or naked as Scoble calls them, conversations. Sure RL has a form that you can fill out, but there’s no blog and certainly no twittering (or jaikuing for that matter) from them.

I’ve filled the form out so we’ll see what response I get from them and I’ll post what they say. But it’s time that every company that cares about it’s users has some form of communicating easily with us.

It’s a bit of a one way street right now, we’re being advertised at by these manufacturers, they are reading what we like and don’t, so that we can be targeted at with products that they want to sell us.

Where can we have the conversation with them on what we want and how we want them to improve their stuff?

One thought on “thoughts on conversations with the manufacturer

  1. Glad you found the team so open and approachable during the beta testing 🙂

    I’m sure we miss some people’s comments/emails/jaikus at time, but we do try to get most of them 🙂

    Andrew [disclaimer – I work for Jaiku]

Leave a Reply

